Beauty Discussion: Haircare do’s and don’ts!

12364034_184788441867668_1627032858_o

Hello Everybody! I am very excited to be sharing this post with you all today, Madison Reed came up with their own hair Do’s and don’ts and I created some of my own! You can find their website here if you would like to know more information.

I will be talking about the Do’s and Don’ts of hair care, but with a slight twist. I will be talking about a few of the popular hair care tips we have all heard before, and if they are true or false!

‘You shouldn’t wash your hair everyday.’

✓TRUE! I definitely agree with this one. I used to wash my hair everyday before I knew this and it really was bad for my hair. I now wash my hair about twice a week and my hair is in much better condition.

Shampoo, rinse and repeat’

✗FALSE! Shampooing your hair once is enough, there’s no need to repeat!

‘You can mend split ends with the right products’

✗FALSE! Once your hair has split, that’s it. All you can do is get the split ends cut off, you can get products that temporarily seal the ends back together making hair easier to manage, but they don’t permanently repair split ends.

‘Tying your hair up too tight can damage your hair causing the ends to break’

✓TRUE! Although my hair is now in a pixie cut and I can no longer tie it up, I still know that this one is true! I had my hair cut in July this year but before that I had long hair, I sometimes used to make the mistake of tying my hair up too tight and it definitely does cause damage to your hair. If your hair is pulled back too tightly then it can cause it to break.

‘You should brush your hair with 100 strokes each day’

✗FALSE! This one is definitely not true, in fact brushing your hair too much can cause split ends!

12366527_184788421867670_1247937049_n

‘Avoid excessive brushing or combing your hair when it is wet, this can cause your hair to break.’

✓TRUE!  To get rid of knots gently brush using a wide toothed comb, but do not try to brush hair too much while it is wet as it is more prone to breakage.

‘Conditioner is not necessary as shampooing in itself is enough’

✗FALSE! Shampoo only contains the ingredients to clean your hair but conditioner moisturises your hair. I find that conditioner is necessary to maintain the moisture in your hair and keep it nice and glossy!

‘Diet is not related to how healthy your hair is’

✗FALSE! Your diet can affect how healthy your hair is. Make sure to eat a healthy balanced diet and also make sure to drink plenty of water, this helps your hair to stay hydrated from the inside out.

‘Using more shampoo means cleaner hair’

✗FALSE! No! Doing this will just waste your shampoo! You only need to use a fairly small dollop of shampoo in order to wash your hair effectively.

‘Shaving your hair will make it grow back thicker’

✗FALSE! Trust me with this one as the style my hair is in includes my hair being shaved at the sides. Your hair doesn’t grow back thicker or darker, its just the same as before.

Here are some more hair care Do’s and don’ts to read from the Madison Reed website, explained by stylists:

MR_hairdo_dont_2x_v5.jpg

Madison Reed also have a hair dye advisor page which you can take a quiz on, click the link here If you are thinking about dying your hair then I definitely recommend you take their quiz as it is very informative and useful to do so you can find the right colour for you.

Thanks for reading!

Find me on:

Instagram | Twitter | Youtube |Facebook

bellasigniture

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Beauty Discussion: Haircare do’s and don’ts!

Leave a Reply

